This project is read-only.

Why no parameters to Trigger/Perform?

Mar 13, 2012 at 4:40 AM

I'm very new to this project but keen to integrate it with my automated time tracking application Crisply.

The first thing I wanted to do was setup a directory watcher and have it post change notifications to Crisply.  This was trivial but ultimately almost useless.  I really don't want to have to setup a unique watcher for every dir.  I'd much rather have a single watcher on the parent dir and then pass the changed dir(s) to the reaction (in this case a cmd script that invokes curl).

What's the rationale for not having parameters between trigger and perform?  Is this on the roadmap?

Thanks,

Michael

Mar 13, 2012 at 5:49 AM

This is a great question, and one that we have thought about a lot. I've got a lot to say on the subject, so give me a few days and I'll have an answer for you. :)

Mar 13, 2012 at 6:30 PM

I see it as a huge limitation of Mayhem. There must be some form of context passing from an Event to ITS Reaction. Would love to hear resolution on this.

Mar 14, 2012 at 7:49 AM
Edited Mar 14, 2012 at 7:51 AM

I've gotten my response to this question up (it's a really common question). The post gives more insight into Mayhem's core than we've talked about so far, so I hope it sheds some light on the issue.

http://eli-white.com/archives/74

Mar 15, 2012 at 3:33 AM

Thanks for the response Eli.  I fully appreciate the balance you've struck.

I certainly agree that passing a generic string parameter is going to cause more problems than it solves.  A string will cause developers to serialize more complicated things and then interpret them.  This can only result in strange, incomprehensible errors for end-users.

I suspect the pent up desire for a system wide events and automation mechanism like OS X Automation.  Despite several fledgling attempts Microsoft has yet to deliver anything comparable.